Workshop Overview

Workshops have now been confirmed for ACM MM15. Basic information for each can be found below, calls for submission will be published here as they are received.

Workshops will take place on Monday 26th October & Friday 30th October and all workshops will run for the full day. Exact dates & times for each workshop will be updated here as they are confirmed.

SIGMM Inaugural Workshop on Multimedia Frontiers – with Invited Presentations by Multimedia Rising Stars

Workshop Organisers:

  • Shih-Fu Chang, SIGMM Chair
  • Rainer Lienhart, SIGMM Vice Chair
  • Nicu Sebe, SIGMM Conference Director

More information can be found at the SIGMM Inaugural Workshop website  http://sigmm.org/news/sigmm_workshop_mf

Multimedia COMMONS — Community-Organized Multimodal Mining: Opportunities for Novel Solutions

Workshop Organisers:

  • Gerald Friedland, International Computer Science Institute
  • Chong-Wah Ngo, City University of Hong Kong
  • David Ayman Shamma, Yahoo Labs

More information including the call for participation can be found at the MM COMMONS website – http://www.mmcommons.org

3rd International Workshop on Immersive Media Experiences

Workshop Organisers:

  • Teresa Chambel, Faculty of Sciences, University of Lisbon, Portugal – tc@di.fc.ul.pt
  • Paula Viana, Polytechnic of Porto and INESC TEC, Portugal – paula.viana@inescporto.pt
  • V. Michael Bove, MIT Media Lab, USA – vmb@media.mit.edu
  • Sharon Strover, University of Texas at Austin, USA – sharon.strover@austin.utexas.edu
  • Graham Thomas, BBC, UK – graham.thomas@bbc.co.uk

More information and the call for participation for this workshop can be found at the Immersive Media Experiences 2015 website – http://immersiveme2015.di.fc.ul.pt/

International ACM Workshop on Crowdsourcing for Multimedia (CrowdMM 2015)

Workshop Organisers:

  • Judith Redi, TU Delft, Netherlands – j.a.redi@tudelft.nl
  • Stevan Rudinac, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands – s.rudinac@uva.nl

More information and the call for participation for this workshop can be found at the CrowdMM 2015 website – http://www.crowdmm.org

The 5th International Audio/Visual Emotion Challenge and Workshop – AVEC 2015

Workshop Organisers:

  • Fabien Ringeval, TUM, Germany – fabien.ringeval@tum.de
  • Björn Schuller, ICL/U Passau, UK/Germany – schuller@ieee.org
  • Michel Valstar, University of Nottingham, UK – michel.valstar@nottingham.ac.uk
  • Roddy Cowie, Queen’s University Belfast, UK – r.cowie@qub.ac.uk
  • Maja Pantic, Imperial College London, UK – m.pantic@imperial.ac.uk

More information and the call for participation for this workshop can be found at the AVEC 2015 website – http://sspnet.eu/avec2015/

2nd Workshop on Computational Models of Social Interactions: Human-Computer-Media Communication

Workshop Organisers:

  • Dr. Mohamed Amer, SRI International, USA
  • Dr. Ajay Divakaran, SRI International, USA
  • Prof. Shih-Fu Chang, Colombia University, USA
  • Prof. Nicu Sebe, University of Trento, Italy

More information and the call for participation for this workshop can be found at the HCMC Workshop website – http://hcmc.cmsi-w.com/.

2nd ACM International Workshop on Human-centered Event Understanding from Multimedia (HuEvent15)

Workshop Organisers:

  • Ansgar Scherp, Kiel University and Leibniz Information Center for Economics, Kiel, Germany  – asc@informatik.uni-kiel.de
  • Vasileios Mezaris, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece – bmezaris@iti.gr
  • Bogdan Ionescu, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania – bionescu@alpha.imag.pub.ro
  • Francesco De Natale, University of Trento, Italy – denatale@ing.unitn.it

The call for participation and further information can be found at the HuEvent15 website.

Workshop on Speech, Language and Audio in Multimedia

Workshop Organisers:

  • Guillaume Gravier, CNRS – IRISA, Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique
  • Martha Larson, TU Delft
  • Gareth J. F. Jones, Dublin City University
  • Roeland Ordelman, University of Twente & Institute for Sound and Vision

The call for participation can be found on the SLAM Workshop page

The 1st International Workshop on Affect and Sentiment in Multimedia

Workshop Organisers:

  • Mohammad Soleymani, University of Geneva – mohammad.soleymani@unige.ch
  • Yi-Husan Yang, Academia Sinica – yang@citi.sinica.edu.tw
  • Yu-Gang Jiang, Fudan University – ygj@fudan.edu.cn
  • Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia University – sc250@columbia.edu

More information and the call for participation can be found at the Affect & Sentiment in Multimedia website – http://cvml.unige.ch/events/ASM15/